Let’s face it, we’re all busy.
And among the many challenges duplex landlords face is making sure to follow the letter of the law when it comes to giving tenants property notice for entry, lease renewal, eviction and so on.
In an effort to reduce at least some paper management, many duplex owners have an automatic renewal clause in their lease which extends the terms of the contract past the expiration date of the lease.
While on the surface that appears to help reduce to chase down tenants to execute paperwork, when it comes to Minnesota state law, it can backfire on you.
If you require a tenant to give you 60 days notice, you cannot hold them to it after the initial lease expires unless you serve them with written personally deliver notice or send it via certified mail, 15 to 30 days before they were required to give you notice.
Not that big of a deal really. Unless, of course, you’re busy.
Is there a way to make it easier on yourself?
Change your leases so they require the tenants give you 58 days notice of their intention to vacate. Minnesota state law does not require written notice be served for any period less than two months in length.